Hurriyat Conference (G) leaders and activists on Friday held protests after congregational Friday prayers in Hyderpora against the continuous house detention of the Hurriyat patriarch Syed Ali Geelani for last 9 years; ‘killings, atrocities and prolonged detention of political prisoners’.

In a statement, a spokesperson of the amalgam said that the protesters while voicing serious concern over the spree of killings, atrocities and arrests at the hands of Indian “occupational” forces, demanded immediate halt on innocent killings and arbitrary measures perpetrated by Indian forces.

The speakers, the statement said, appealed world human rights organizations to take cognizance and come to the rescue of “subjugated” people in Kashmir.

Hurriyat leaders also condemned the continued house detention of its chairman Syed Ali Geelani for last 9 years, saying that stopping pro-freedom leader from performing his religious and social responsibilities is “gross violation of human rights and interference in the personnel and religious rights”.

“Authorities have so far failed to produce any court order or any administrative document in support of this illegal detention for such a long time. What is the justification in turning his residence into a sub-jail,” asked Hurriyat leaders?

Lamenting New Delhi for its rhetoric about democracy and freedom of speech, the leaders said that their tall claims about freedom of expression and democracy stand exposed as they didn’t dare to face pro-freedom leadership and resorted to vandalism, arresting leadership, imposing restrictions, bullying and denying political space to leadership.

Those who participated in the protest included Mohammad Yousuf Naqash, Molvi Bashir Irfani, Mohammad Rafiq Uwasi, Bilal Sidiqui, Mohammad Yaseen Aataie, Syed Mohammad Shafi, Bashir Ahmad Indrabi, Imtiyaz Ahmad Shah, Khawaja Firdous, Rameez Raja, Ashiq Hussain, Mohammad Maqbool Maghami, Syed Imtiyaz Haider, Abdul Rashid Dar, Parvez Ahmad Bhat, Mohammad Rafiq Khanyari, Riyaz Ahmad, Shakeel Ahmad Bhat, Haji Qadous, Ab. Hamid Alaie, Sajad Ahmad and others.